Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

General topics about all things heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration.

Moderator: juster

Post Reply
fauxcomfort
Minimal
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:24 pm

Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

Post by fauxcomfort » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:29 pm

I just had to replace the condenser coil on my Goodman GPH1460H41 because it was leaking freon. The invoice says that the technician recovered 10lbs of refrigerant and then installed 10lbs. I climbed up on the roof after they left and according to the data plate my unit's refrigerant capacity is 12.5lbs (200 oz). What happened to the other 2.5 lbs of refrigerant? Is my unit now at full capacity after the 10lbs was restored or does it need more refrigerant?

heatseeker
Most Valued Contributor
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:10 am

- Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

Post by heatseeker » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:42 pm

Most techs don't weight charge in unless they are trained well. So ten pounds is a round number that he used. You can make him come out and recover and recharge but then you'll be right back where you started.

fauxcomfort
Minimal
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:24 pm

- Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

Post by fauxcomfort » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:50 pm

Thanks for the quick response. I guess my question is that given that my unit has been leaking, wouldn't he have had to add more freon into the unit than what he removed?

heatseeker
Most Valued Contributor
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:10 am

- Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

Post by heatseeker » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:55 pm

You do not know how much he removed and neither does he because he didn't use a scale, But like I said your unit is fine, If you have any doubts call the company and tell them to weight the charge into the unit.

Freon
Most Valued Contributor
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:26 am

- Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

Post by Freon » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:11 pm

It doesn't matter how much he removed. The only true way to charge an AC system is by using gauges. If you are getting good cold air, let it slide. If you think the system worked better at a time before, call the tech back and have him charge the system the correct way.

heatseeker
Most Valued Contributor
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:10 am

- Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

Post by heatseeker » Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:13 am

I assumed this is a package unit which if it holds that much freon I think it is anyways with package units a weighed in charge is the best way to go.

moshei
Regular Contributor
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:15 am
Location: Manhattan, NYC
Contact:

- Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

Post by moshei » Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:11 am

A no and a yes..!?
I guess..,yes ,I agree that most of the techs don't weight..!
As an owner of the unit,you must ask and check it..!
Stay away from expensive repairs of air conditioning New York. If your furnace is old but still operational, Tele Temp Cooling and Heating also replace parts to for system upgrade. Visit us at teletempcooling dot com

Big
Regular Contributor
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:07 pm

- Did technicians put enough freon in my A/C unit?

Post by Big » Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:17 pm

System are charged by either Sub-cooling or super heat , In most cases a drop-in charge is installed , than the system is charge by previous method . Sub-Cooling and / or Super-heat is used to give the critical charge (the the perfect charge the manfacture wants) Any tech worth his weight wil be able to explain this to you . If he can't send him on his way.

Post Reply